Traffic & Speeding
Driving on a suspended/no valid license
Driving Too Fast for Conditions
Changing Lanes When Unsafe
Following Too Closely
Failing to Yield the Right of Way
Driving Under the Influence (DUI or DWI)
Not Wearing a Seatbelt
Failure to Maintain Proof of Insurance
Moving violations (speeding, red light, stop sign, etc.) are common in the state of Florida. While they can be handled by mailing in payment of a fine, this has implications with the Motor Vehicle Administration and your insurance company. When you pay a traffic ticket, you are entering a guilty plea and points may be assessed. Once a certain number of points are accumulated, your privilege to drive may be suspended or revoked. If you hire an attorney, they can appear on your behalf and attempt to obtain a result that will prevent points – therefore protecting your ability to drive.
Whatever ticket you received, you NEVER want to admit guilt. So, DON’T PAY THAT TRAFFIC TICKET until you speak to us, and remember, your consultation is always free!
The Pistorio Law Firm will aggressively help you with your DUI specific case. There are numerous possible challenges that can be made to the DUI charges you are facing including: whether the DUI officer acted properly when he pulled you over, whether the DUI officer properly administered the field sobriety exercises, and whether the results of any DUI breath or blood alcohol tests are accurate. The Pistorio Law firm will show all of problems in your DUI case to offer you the strongest defense possible. If you have been arrested for DUI in Jacksonville, contact us today to schedule your free DUI case evaluation.
Background information regarding the law for DUI in Florida:
If you are convicted for a first offense DUI (.08 g/210L or greater or refusal), you face a maximum of 6 months in jail, 6-12 months supervised probation, 6-month driver’s license suspension, DUI School (with potential treatment to follow), a fine of $500-$1000, 10 day impound of your vehicle, 1 session of the Victim Impact Panel (MADD) and 50 hours of community service.
If your BAC exceeds .15%, or there was a minor in the vehicle, the fines and penalties for your conviction may be substantially higher or you may be required to install an ignition interlock.
For a second conviction, the fine starts at $1,000, 30-day vehicle impound, Level II DUI school plus treatment, 1-year ignition interlock, and up to a year in jail. If the offense is within 5 years of your last DUI conviction, there is a mandatory 10 days in jail and a 5-year suspension of your driver’s license.
The penalties for a third and fourth DUI conviction are more serious including mandatory jail. If someone is seriously injured or killed as a result of a DUI-related accident, your case will be charged as a felony which could involve a prison sentence. An automatic driver’s license suspension is a part of the penalty for any DUI.
If lawfully arrested for DUI, you are deemed to have given your consent to submit to a breath test and/or urine test. However, you may refuse to take such tests unless you are involved in an accident involving serious bodily injury or death to a human being. However. The law permits the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles to suspend your privilege to operate a motor vehicle for a period of one (1) year for a first refusal, or a period of eighteen (18) months for a second or subsequent refusal. Additionally, the refusal to submit to a breath or urine test is admissible in any criminal proceeding against you.
After a DUI arrest, your defense should begin within the next 10 days. Ten days is all the time you have to appeal the automatic driver’s license suspension that goes along with any DUI arrest. The Pistorio Law Firm can help you keep your driver’s license or help you obtain a hardship license. We attend administrative hearings on your behalf and fight to keep you on the road.